Alexandria DUI Lawyer

If you have to deal with driving under the influence (DUI) charges in Alexandria, Virginia, you don’t do it alone. An experienced Alexandria criminal defense lawyer can help you deal with the charges you face.

Whether this is your first time facing charges for driving under the influence or a second- or third-time charge that could result in serious fines and jail time, it’s important to protect yourself.  The Alexandria DUI attorneys at our firm have the experience and the local knowledge necessary to put forth a strong defense on your behalf.

Top Three Ways an Alexandria DUI Lawyer Can Help You

  1. Devise a defense strategy tailored to your unique situation and urgent needs.
  2. Do their best to speed up the legal process and ensure that there are no delays in getting your case in and out of court.
  3. Provide you with the support of a trusted advisor and zealous advocate.

Our Alexandria DUI attorneys have an in-depth understanding of state law and state courts and strive constantly to make the law work in your favor. They are familiar with the personnel and procedures that characterize local courts, which can be a major asset when you are facing serious DUI charges.

Your Alexandria DUI lawyer will carefully explain your charges and defense options, educating you and empowering you as you face your legal problems. When you are facing such difficult circumstances, it’s important to have an advocate on your side who can lend you the confidence that only experience and excellent client service can truly provide.

What Happens When You Get A DUI in Alexandria

Being charged with a DUI is a serious crime in the state of Virginia, and what happens when you get a DUI varies depending on your age and your past history.

Age

According to Virginia Code Section 18.2-266.1, drivers under the age of 21 who drink and drive commit a Class 1 misdemeanor, punishable by the following:

  • Loss of license for one year
  • A mandatory fine of at least $500 or the completion of at least 50 hours of mandatory community service

History of Offenses

According to Section  18.2-270, drivers convicted of drinking and driving for the first time are guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor, punishable by a mandatory fine of at least $250. To learn about how first time DUI charges are prosecuted, click here.

However, subsequent offenses can be considered felonies and come with harsher penalties:

  • Second offense within a five year period — A mandatory fine of at least $500 and a mandatory jail sentence lasting at least 20 days but not more than one year.
  • Second offense within a five to 10 year period — A mandatory fine of at least $500 and a mandatory jail sentence lasting at least 10 days but not more than one year.
  • Third offense within a five year period — A mandatory jail sentence lasting six months and a mandatory fine of at least $1,000.
  • Third offense within a 10 year period — A mandatory jail sentence lasting 90 days.
  • Fourth offense within a 10 year period — A mandatory jail sentence lasting one year and a mandatory fine of at least $1,000.

Talk to an Alexandria DUI Lawyer Today

We have a legal team standing by right now. Your initial consultation is free, so don’t hesitate to call us today and discover how an Alexandria DUI attorney at our firm can help you.

Contact Us
Free Consultation