Virginia Criminal Defense Attorney
Traffic laws are very heavily enforced in Alexandria not only on the major highways, which are enforced heavily but also in residential neighborhoods. Because there are several major highways that run through Alexandria, there are both Virginia State Police and Alexandria Police that monitor those roads to make sure that people are driving in a safe manner. It’s very easy for police to pick out people speeding or driving recklessly.
Alexandria is also a very residential city. In addition to the Old Town area where there are tons of pedestrians, there are a lot of other residential neighborhoods in Alexandria. And because of in areas with a lot of children families are obviously concerned about their safety so they rely heavily on police to enforce traffic laws to help protect those children and make that community safe.
Alexandria is very affluent in many areas meaning that it has a very active community who is willing to make complaints to police if they feel their community is not safe. And for that reason, police enforce the traffic laws very heavily.
Reckless driving is very commonly charged and enforced in Virginia and particularly in Alexandria. Reckless driving occurs anytime someone is driving at 80 mph or above, regardless of what speed they’re going, or if they’re traveling in excess of 20 mph above the speed limit, or additionally, if they’re driving in a generally reckless way so as to endanger the life, limb or property of someone else on the road. So, it can be charged in numerous ways and it is charged often in Alexandria and enforced very heavily.
Reckless driving can be charged in numerous ways in Virginia. There is general reckless driving, which is driving in a manner so as to endanger the life, limb, or property of someone else on the road. There also is a charge for reckless driving when you are traveling in excess of 80 mph.
That by itself is reckless driving. Reckless driving can also be charged regardless of how fast someone is going if they are traveling in excess of 20 mph above the speed limit. So, if the speed limit is 25 and the police clocked you at 46, that can be charged as reckless driving. Additionally, the code of Virginia has several specific provisions that list types of reckless driving that include certain passing maneuvers, driving with faulty brakes, racing and not stopping for school buses. So, there are numerous ways that a person can be charged with reckless driving in Virginia.
The most common way that reckless driving is charged in Virginia is when someone is caught traveling at 80 mph or above or is traveling 20miles per hour or more above the speed limit. Reckless driving by speed is by far the most commonly charged reckless driving charge in Virginia–and Alexandria.