Chantilly Assault Lawyer

In some states, simply uttering a threat would lead to an assault charge, but in Virginia, the law defines assault slightly different than other states. In the state of Virginia, assault and battery are charged together, and the prosecutor will need to prove that the defendant intended to harm another individual.

If you have charged with assault, you will need the help of a Chantilly assault lawyer in court. The court harshly prosecutes those charged with assault, and if you attempt to represent yourself, you could end up jeopardizing your own case, so contact a skilled attorney in Virginia today.

What is Assault?

Assault and battery are defined as one person unlawfully touching another, but the law currently recognizes two classes of assault. If a person touches another person unlawfully, but they do not use a weapon or cause bodily harm, they will be charged with misdemeanor assault. If a person uses a weapon or causes a person to sustain a bodily injury, they can be charged with felony assault.

Most assault cases involve individuals who know each other, but there have been numerous cases of random acts of violence. Individuals who are convicted of felony assault, they will face harsher penalties than those who are convicted of misdemeanor assault.

Misdemeanor vs. Felony Charges

Charges of simple assault and battery are usually classified as Class 1 misdemeanors in Virginia, but if the victim was chosen based on their ethnicity, race, sexual orientation, or disability, the charges can be upgraded to those of a class 6 felony. If a person seriously harms another individual, they can be charged with a class 3 felony.

Simply put, the type of assault an individual is charged with depends on the type of injuries sustained by the victim and the circumstances of the assault. Defendants who have previous assault charges will receive harsher penalties than first-time offenders, and they will need to contact an assault lawyer based in Chantilly if they want their charges reduced or dismissed.

Legal Consequences of Assault

As mentioned above, the sentence an individual charged with assault receives will be based on the extent of the injuries they cause to the alleged victim. If the victim was hardly touched, the defendant will receive a lesser charge. Those found guilty will be charged as follows:

  • Class 1 Misdemeanor – Up to 12 months in jail and a fine of $2,500
  • Class 6 Felony – One to five years in prison and a fine of up to $2,500
  • Class 3 Felony – Five to 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $100,000
  • Class 2 Felony – 20 years to life and a fine of up to $100,000

Individuals who cause severe bodily harm to another person can be convicted of a Class 2 felony. If a person is charged with any of the crimes listed above, they will need the help of an assault attorney

Seek Legal Representation

If you are presently facing assault and battery charges in the state of Virginia, you will need to hire an experienced lawyer to represent you. Assault is a very serious crime, and if you are convicted, your entire life can change for the worse. Call a Chantilly assault lawyer right now if you need legal representation.

Contact Us
Free Consultation