Virginia Criminal Defense Attorney
You should contact an experienced Falls Church reckless driving lawyer if you are facing allegations of driving with the negligent disregard for others wellbeing. While many traffic offenses are charged as infractions, a reckless driving conviction would subject you to criminal penalties.
Therefore, it may be in your best interests to discuss your charges with a skilled criminal attorney who could provide you with knowledgeable guidance. A compassionate attorney could explain how the legal process works in a reckless driving case and fight hard to help you obtain a reduction of your charges. In some cases, it may even be possible to achieve a full dismissal of your charges. Dedicated legal counsel could maximize your chances of securing an advantageous outcome and vigilantly represent your interests in a court of law.
Under Code of Virginia § 46.2-852, a person can be charged with reckless driving if they drive heedlessly or carelessly, or in such a way as to put other individuals or their property at risk of harm. Furthermore, pursuant to Va. Code Ann. § 46.2-862, a driver may be convicted of reckless driving if they drive at speeds equaling or exceeding 20 miles per hour over the posted limit. A person who is driving more than 80 miles per hour may also be charged with reckless driving and require the assistance of a local attorney.
A similar but separate offense recognized by Virginia law is aggressive driving. Aggressive driving involves someone driving with the purpose of pressuring, harming, or holding up another individual. For example, following another vehicle too closely, passing another vehicle when it is not legally permissible to do so, or disobeying traffic lights could lead to aggressive driving charges. Aggressive driving constitutes a Class 2 misdemeanor, punishable by up to $1,000 in fines, a maximum prison term of six months, or both.
Whereas aggressive driving is chargeable as a Class 2 misdemeanor, reckless driving would be classified as a Class 1 misdemeanor. There are a range of potential consequences that could be levied against the individual if they are convicted.
For one, the individual would have points assessed against their driving record. A conviction would also leave the individual with a criminal record which could reap numerous long-term ramifications on their life, including their ability to obtain certain types of work and housing. Virginia law punishes Class 1 misdemeanors with a maximum 12-month jail term and the individual could be fined as much as $2,500. The court may deem it appropriate to suspend the individual’s license for a period not to exceed six months.
Under Va. Code. Ann. § 46.2-868, a person who was driving recklessly without a valid license and caused someone to suffer fatal injuries would face Class 6 felony penalties. These penalties would include up to five year’s imprisonment and/or a fine no more than $2,500. A Falls Church reckless driving attorney could identify any circumstances that could diminish the individual’s sentence or lead to downgrading of their criminal charge.
If you need help seeking a reduction of your criminal charges, a Falls Church reckless driving lawyer may be able to assist. An attorney could advise whether a plea agreement may be advisable and discuss other potential strategies to pursue a fair outcome. Call now to set up your introductory consultation with an experienced lawyer.