There are two ways to be charged with reckless driving by speed in Mecklenburg. One is whenever an individual travels more than 20 miles per hour above the posted speed limit. The other is when someone travels more than 80 miles per hour regardless of the speed limit. In other words, driving 81 miles per hour or faster on the interstate is reckless driving.
If you are facing charges, it may be important to hire a Mecklenburg County reckless driving by speed lawyer, as reckless driving is a criminal misdemeanor in Virginia. Moreover, whenever someone is pulled over for a speeding ticket in Virginia, it is worth calling a lawyer to make sure they have not been charged with reckless driving.
Reckless driving in any context is a Class 1 misdemeanor that carries up to 12 months in jail and a $2,500 fine. Often, drivers mistakenly believe they have a speeding ticket when, in fact, they are charged with reckless driving. If they are found guilty, the charge stays on their criminal record for the rest of their life.
Reckless driving by speed is not considered a less-severe form of reckless driving. The punishment for reckless driving by speed is the same as reckless driving by any other means.
There is no legal excuse for driving at a reckless speed, but evidence may be available to mitigate negative consequences. Sometimes, the officer makes an error when they measure the person with the radar. Other times, the vehicle’s speedometer could be faulty or there may be other extenuating circumstances that prompt the judge to give the driver a more favorable outcome. A Mecklenburg County reckless driving by speed lawyer could work with prosecutors to mitigate a defendant’s charges.
A speeding ticket might cause someone to have points added to their driver’s license, but it is still a traffic infraction, not a criminal misdemeanor. Reckless driving is a criminal misdemeanor. When a person is convicted of reckless driving, they have a criminal record.
The ticket should say “reckless driving” or have the letters, “R.D.” written on it if it is charged as a reckless driving ticket. Also, a driver may look at the code section that the officer writes on the summons. The code section for reckless driving by speed is 46.2-862.
A reckless driving attorney could their experience and professional judgment to help get their client’s reckless driving ticket reduced, if possible. An attorney could assist with a reckless driving case, leading to a better outcome that helps the client maintain their clean criminal record.
Every jurisdiction handles reckless driving by speed cases differently. Each judge has their own approach and preferred methods of handling reckless driving tickets. How one’s case is handled depends on the speed the individual is charged with driving and the jurisdiction. Contact a Mecklenburg County reckless driving by speed lawyer for a local, tailored defense to your criminal charges