Virginia Criminal Defense Attorney
There are many laws governing the purchase, ownership, possession, transportation, and use of guns in Mecklenburg County. Keeping track of all the legal requirements pertaining to such things as open or concealed carry of a handgun can be difficult and a person can find themselves facing charges for violations of the gun laws.
If you are facing charges for gun violations, a Mecklenburg County gun lawyer could help. Reach out to an experienced attorney who could advocate on your behalf and fight for your rights.
There are several ways in which a gun lawyer in Mecklenburg County could assist individuals facing gun charges. A gun lawyer could explain the specific charges being faced, including whether they are misdemeanor or felony charges.
A lawyer could also provide legal advice and answer questions about the gun laws, represent a person during all legal proceedings, and explain the possible legal penalties for convictions of gun law violations. Finally, an attorney could prepare a defense and fight on behalf of the person charged to help achieve the best possible legal outcome given the circumstances.
Gun laws in Mecklenburg County are outlined in Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia, under Articles 4-7 of Chapter 7, Crimes Involving Health and Safety. Articles 4-7 cover the following areas pertaining to the ownership, possession, and use of guns:
Several gun-related offenses are detailed in Articles 4-7, including whether the offense is categorized as a felony or misdemeanor. Some of the specific offenses prohibited under Articles 4-7 include the following:
A Mecklenburg County gun attorney could explain Virginia gun laws in greater detail, including how the laws apply to the specific charges against a person.
The legal penalties for gun law violations in Mecklenburg County vary in severity depending on whether the specific violation is classified as a misdemeanor or felony offense. When a person has prior convictions for a specific violation, subsequent convictions for the same offense can result in more severe penalties.
For instance, carrying a concealed handgun without a permit is a Class 1 misdemeanor for the first offense, which carries a sanction of a jail sentence of one year or less and a possible fine of $2,500.
A second offense of carrying a concealed handgun without a permit is elevated to a Class 6 felony and is punishable by a prison sentence of one to five years, as well as a fine of up to $2,500. Subsequent violations beyond the second offense are elevated to a Class 5 felony, which carries a prison sentence of up to 10 years and a fine of up to $2,500.
A Mecklenburg County gun attorney could provide a thorough explanation of the possible legal penalties associated with first-time or subsequent convictions for violations of gun laws.
You do not have to deal with charges of gun law violations on your own. An attorney could help you navigate the legal system and fight on your behalf to achieve the best legal outcome possible under the circumstances. Contact a Mecklenburg County gun attorney for assistance today.