Virginia Criminal Defense Attorney
A Virginia reckless driving lawyer can help you try to keep your driver’s license and avoid being convicted of a crime if you are charged with driving recklessly. The penalties for reckless driving go beyond a simple traffic ticket. You need to be informed of your options and understand the law when you decide how to respond to your charges. A reckless driving lawyer in Virginia can provide you with legal advice about your case with the goal of getting a not guilty verdict.
You can’t just pay a fine when charged with reckless driving- you need to go to court. You should not go alone. Your Virginia reckless driving lawyer can:
There are lots of different behaviors that could be considered reckless driving, and your approach to the charges should be determined based on the specifics of the accusations against you. Get help from an attorney in Virginia who understands reckless driving laws and who knows how to represent defendants accused of this crime.
The crime of reckless driving includes driving in a way that puts “life, limb, or property,” of any person at risk. Virginia Code Section 46.2-852 indicates that going fast enough to create a hazard is considered reckless driving, regardless of speed. This means even if a defendant is under the legal speed limit, a prosecutor could bring reckless driving charges if the defendant was going too fast for the current conditions of the road.
Additionally, traveling at any speed 20 miles per hour or more above the posted speed limit can be charged as Reckless Driving. As can being clocked at any speed above 80 miles per hour, regardless of the posted speed limit.
Speeding does not always lead to reckless driving charges, but is one of many behaviors that can result in prosecution. Other examples of driving behaviors that may result in charges include passing stopped school buses; street racing; trying to flee police officers; and failing to stop for an emergency vehicle. Any of these can result in a traffic stop and, ultimately, a reckless driving charge.
Conviction for reckless driving could lead to a $2,500 fine and as long as a year in jail according to Code Section 46.2-868. A 90-day license suspension and 6 driver’s license demerit points are also possible penalties. Using an electronic device at the time of the offense can result in an additional $250 fine.
Because reckless driving is a Class 1 misdemeanor, you should strongly think about exercising your right to an attorney. A Virginia reckless driving lawyer with experience handling similar claims can bring legal knowledge and experience to the table as you make decisions on your case. Your attorney can also make arguments on your behalf when the prosecutor tries to convict. Call today to learn more.